Those Were the Days

I do enjoy wearing my work clothes.  I find jeans uncomfortable.  My T-shirts are fun and witty and fun to wear.  When watching time period movies, it stands out how people wore nice clothes all the time.  Downton Abbey is a distraction for me not because of the storyline but for the clothing.  Men are limited in what they can wear and the modern day threads usually bore me.  Women have so many choices and can make so many statements, even the shoes keep evolving (not always for the best).  I miss seeing everyone looking spiffy, yes, there are outfits I like that aren’t dressy but the lazy enough has evolved.  During a recent trip to the grocery story, a family came in with slippers, pjs and worn out shirts.  They looked horrible and I did not get the sense this was the only clothes they owned.  Pride in ones look is a dying art.  A graphic T-shirt and shorts, with the right detail can look really good.

dress

Leave a comment